NSW Citizenship Application with Traffic Offence

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
31 May 2018
Hello Everyone,

I am trying to get some expert advice on my situation. I am a permanent resident and in Australia for just over 4 years. I am eligible to apply for Australian Citizenship and have already done so. I have few traffic offences under my belt and would like to know if it can be a problem with the application. Following are the time lines,

1. Traffic Offence - Over-speeding by 10 KMPH- VIC - 10 Jan 2018. Fine paid to VIC Fines, waiting for demerit to be awarded by RMS. I received this fine after 3 months i.e. 10 Apr 2018 as I was driving hire car.

2. Citizenship Application - Applied on 17 Apr 2018 and did not declare the above offence in the application.

I might get another ticket on the same VIC route I travelled on 28 Mar 2018. Let's say if it comes through by end of June. I will then have 2 traffic offences both undeclared in the application. I do not have any other adverse traffic offence record apart from the above.

Questions,

1. Will the above affect my Citizenship application?

2. Do I need to declare them in the application?

3. What happens if the license gets suspended due to demerit points and I just accept the suspension without going to court or RMS for good behavior bond, Do I still need to declare it?

4. Will serving the license suspension affect the Citizenship application?

There are no other traffic or criminal related offence against me except the above so I would like to know your thoughts.

Thanks,

Regards
AK

Clancy

6 April 2016
Not an expert, but, you do have to answer the application questions truthfully. But that does not mean you have to disclose things not required to be disclosed.... it is a matter of understanding the questions being asked.