VIC Caught Shoplifting at Sephora

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

nyongtory

17 June 2017
Hi everyone,

I am so scared right now and I don't know how I can do. Could you guys here if any take just little of your time to answer me?

Today I get caught shoplifting at Sephora and I had a serious conversation with a security man. I swear this is my first time ever and I don't know why I did that. The security man said that this time is a warning and my only chance. As follows, I am not allowed to trespass any physical stores anywhere. I did not have to sign any paperwork. He didn't call the police although he wanted to, he just took my picture as a record. He said that all of my information will be private and only use in Sephora system since he wants to make sure that I'll never go to their store. My question is: Is there any further actions affecting my current visa and the future visa application with this case (since I'm an international student). Thought the security guy said that he wouldn't make any black records or call the police, my body is still shaking. Can you help me to answer this question, please? What should I do now to make it better for my future visa application?

Lance

31 October 2015
Hi Nyongtory,
Don't do anything. Stay away from Sephora, but don't do anything else. There is no effect to your visa because you don't have a conviction. Look this sort of thing happens all the time. The security guard isn't a police officer, so what ever he recorded is just for their records. His job was to scare you so you don't do it again. It sounds like it worked. If you try to do anything to help with your future visa applications it wont help. So be thankful he didn't call the police. Put it behind you.

Reactions: nyongtory

nyongtory

17 June 2017
Hi Nyongtory,