VIC Can I Sue the Commonwealth Bank for Personal Loans?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

janelame

3 July 2015
In 2013 I worked as a waitress for very little money, I was barely keeping well. I needed to find a better job thus needed a car and the best way I could budget it in my view was to get a fixed interest personal loan.

I went for 10,000, but they (Commonwealth Bank) granted me 12,000 initially. I only took 10 not wanting the excess to go to waste.
I got a car and a new computer and used the rest to set myself up for uni.

I have paid off almost $7000 of the loan in total over 3 years, which I asked for but somehow ended up with a 5 year plan.

I gave them all the information they asked for, and I did not embellish or lie about my income. I provided 3 months of pay-slips, statements from Centrelink which I was also on at the time and had no previous work history beyond those 3 months.

I was sort of shocked when it came though, everyone was given that I know people who have 3 jobs and can't get credit from any bank for any amount.

10,000 was in my account 3 days later.

A year later my car broke down *sigh* and It was getting harder to make the nearly $500 repayments per month.
So I went back to the bank to try and get another loan or to change it to unsecured so I could borrow from my repayment stock, to fix my car so I could get another job. I only wanted the extra $2000, but was denied and told to go to a branch and get a fortnightly overdraft.

So I did that, the lady at the next branch said she shouldn't grant it to me, but gave me $100 overdraft.
From then on I kept defaulting on payments because I couldn't afford to pay back just the $100 a fortnight.