QLD Bullying by Manager

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

mathilde

10 March 2021
Hi,

can you give me guidance on how to handle a bullying complaint I made to my employer and what options I have to request for an outcome?

I've been working in a senior position for this company for 5 years and feel my manager started bullying me approx. 12 months ago. I did not recognise it as bullying at first as it's quite covert, for example: overloading me with work, directing me to work on additional projects on full-time basis whilst at the same time still requiring me to meet the responsibilities of my primary role, directing me to work on tasks that aren't aligned to my position (below my level of experience or outside of my skill area), escalation of unreasonable demands, excessive overtime (e.g. 50-60 hrs on a regular basis) and criticism followed. After I first started complaining that the demands are unreasonable, my role was changed removing some of my responsibilities, which effectively feels like a demotion. This was done with the explanation that the organisation doesn't have suitable work for me and impacts of COVID-19. Several months later my manager hired a new employee and placed them in my old role. The relationship with my manager has deteriorated over time. My mental health also started to suffer recently and I'm being treated by my GP & psychologist under mental health plan. I raised my complaints directly with my manager several times without resolution, followed by informal complaint to HR. Following another incident recently, I raised a formal HR complaint which is now being investigated. Meanwhile I received a formal warning for the inappropriate tone I used when complaining of the recent incident (retaliation?). It feels I'm being progressively treated worse because I started raising complaints.