QLD Which Employment Contract for the Same Job is Binding?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

James.todd.au

17 July 2015
Dear Legal forum,
I am kindly requesting your help.

I am a recruitment consultant currently employed with a small business in Brisbane, QLD.

I signed up on a 457 visa (4 year sponsorship), with the condition that the company would then sponsor me for a 186 ENS (Employer Nominated Sponsorship). The issue is that having passed through my probation (I am on my 7th month) we do not see eye to eye and the boss is trying to make me leave. First my commission was cut and now he is putting pressure on any of my colleagues who talk to me to ignore me etc.

The initial employment contract signed declared that I would pay for the full cost of the permanent residency visa if I left inside of 12 months. However, after joining I was issued with a new employment contract as the business changed into a Ltd company (new name etc) with no mention of the permanent residency deal. Is the new or the old employment contract binding?

When the new employment contract was issued, the boss said it was fake employment contract "for immigration purposes" and didn't give me a copy. I have since managed to obtain a copy.

I am also worried that if I leave the employer in question will he (can he?) withhold my final pay to 'pay my debt'.

Help!

Ivy

10 February 2015
Hi James,

A few questions:
  • Is your second contract essentially the same as your first employment contract?
  • Apart from the fact that the second contract doesn't contain the clause about your visa payment, what other differences are there? Any changes in job title or duties?
  • What is your actual job duties? Are they reflected more accurately in the first or second contract?