VIC Unfair dismissal / redundancy

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

GlassHalfFull

28 August 2018
Hi,

There's a reasonable amount of background to this, but essentially it boils down to this. I believe I have most likely been dismissed via redundancy because I had been pursuing a flexible working arrangement that my employer did not want to provide.

I had been working for my employer in IT support for almost 2 years and since mid-2022, had been attempting to request additional flexibility in terms of WFH arrangements (my proposal was 2.5 days per week - specifically 2 in one week and 3 in the other week, only fortnightly rotation) so that I could maintain parenting/caring commitments (school/daycare pickups etc). I had been given 1 day per week and was told that it was the maximum I would be given. When I first made the request for additional flexibility, I mentioned my understanding of the Fair Work Act that provided employees of 12+ months the right to request flexibility for certain things like parenting, and that my understanding was that the request should be made in writing. My manager effectively told me that formalising the request in writing would be seen as a legal challenge and that because of the current situation in the team, they could not accommodate it as one of my colleagues was on long term leave (overseas holiday for 4-6 months) and we were effectively a man down. I was told to try to manage with the existing arrangements for the time being and we might be able to revisit the request when my colleague returned from leave.