NSW Employment Law - Can I Request for Redundancy under Current Organisation's ABN?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Jimity

11 September 2015
I work in the higher education sector. Our entity has its own ABN, which we are are paid through etc. We are owned by a parent organisation in the higher education sector which has its own ABN and staff etc. Each organisation has its own Enterprise Agreement (EBA).

Today I have been advised the reporting roles of myself, and by extension my team, have been under review since April, with the aim of a decision from a discussion paper (the paper is due next week at mine/parent entities upper management level) to transfer the reporting lines of our roles from those within our organisation, to those at our parent organisation. It will also likely mean my role, whilst staying located at the same physical location, will be treated as that of an agent to the current organisation I work for, with those I currently work with becoming clients rather than colleagues. I have been advised it is likely my, and my teams', role(s) will continue at our parent organisation, effectively meaning I could stay in a job in some form, however I understand my pay would likely come from the ABN of our parent organisation on my pay slip. It is not financially, nor professionally, acceptable to me on face value to be employed by our parent organisation though.