Shared Custody of Children - Is Parent Living Too Far Away?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

mierd

11 March 2016
Hi,

Generally speaking, what would be considered too far a distance for 50/50 care? More specifically, if parents lived 50kms from each other and the children attended school in the area that one parent live, would it hinder the chances of the other parent being awarded 50/50 shared care or custody of children?

In this instance, the parent that lives 50kms away from the children's school has a flexible job and would have no issue at all attending school drop off and pick ups.

Hope this makes sense and appreciate your feedback.

AllForHer

23 July 2014
How old is the child?

sammy01

27 September 2015
I would have done 50/50 are if the ex allowed, but I did 60/40 care with a 60km drive between. I'm a teacher in a rural location, so often it is a good idea to live a distance away from the students. That said, 60km in the country is 40min. Some city folk would commute 20km slower.

Look, really the distance only matters when it becomes impractical. While not ideal, I don't think the time in the car is grounds to change parenting.

Can you give a bit more detail about your situation?

AllForHer

23 July 2014
It's sort of hard to know. I think your biggest challenge here would be persuading the Court that the daily drive to and from school is something the kids can cope with.

Personally, it was never an issue for me. We caught a bus for an hour each way and it had no negative effect on us at all. Like @sammy01 said as well, in the country, a drive of 50kms can mean only 25 minutes in the car, which is what a lot of kids do in suburbia anyway.