WA Separation and Divorce - Where Do I Stand?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Danny Western

3 August 2015
My wife and I have been together 25 years but are now going through a separation. She tells me she has spoken to a family lawyer and he told her she is entitled to 70% of what we have. Our daughter is over 21 years old and married herself, so is not dependant on either of us. I am the only wage earner therefore she does not contribute anything to the house payments (I have been paying off our house for about 7 years), nor does she contribute towards either of the car payments, household bills, insurances, food etc. etc. so basically she is dependant on me. I do my own washing, most of my own cooking, cleaning etc. We have been sleeping separately and mostly living separate lives, other than living in the same house, for around 12 months now.

Could you please tell me where I stand when we do officially divorce? What would she really be entitled to? I have offered to help set her up in her own place (pay towards bond etc. and buying furniture or giving her items we have in this house already) as well as offered to allow her to keep the car I am paying off (the loan and registration are in my name). Still she says its not enough and seems set on pursuing an aggressive divorce by involving courts and lawyers.

Any information you can give me would be much appreciated. Thank you.

S

Sophea

Hi Danny,

Generally, you can start working out a property settlement any time after you separate from your spouse. You do not need to wait until your divorce comes through. However if you end up needing to apply to the court to make a decision you will have 12 months from the date your divorce becomes final to commence property settlement proceedings. However you can also get a court ordered property settlement before you are divorced.