TAS Mother & Daughter Mortgage and Title

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

bridgyguy

15 April 2020
Hi, i hope this is not too complicated, but i will try to explain as best as i can.

Ok so my wife and i sold our family home last year, we traveled overseas for 3 months, returned home and bought a brand new 3 bedroom townhouse for $270,000 in cash (appraised value is now $350,000) and we have $50,000 left from the sale of our old house, but the title for this new townhouse is in my wifes name, as i have a unit of my own in another state that i bought before i met my wife, and i have been renting that out for the past 25 years.

There are 3 more brand new 2 bedroom townhouses for sale over the road in a new complex just completed, selling for around $270,000 and we thought that it might be a good idea to help our 20y/o daughter get into the property market by helping her to buy one of those 3 properties, seeing as they are brand new, and selling for such a great price.

Our idea was to have my wife put in $20,000 and our daughter put in $10,000 plus the $20,000 first home owners grant, making it a $50,000 deposit, and then my wife and daughter would apply to our bank (a small community based bank) for a joint home loan for around $220,000 as my daughter would probably not yet qualify for her own home loan as she has not had a long stable work history yet, and the repayments would be too high for her, unless she stayed living with us and she rented the unit to a couple of her friends for a few years so the rent would contribute to the loan repayments, or she would live in the new townhouse and have a friend rent a room and share it with her.