QLD Commercial Law - Queries on Purchasing a Small Business

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Bradcoll

4 October 2015
Hi,
I am considering purchasing a fruit shop. Although I have many years of experience operating in the fresh produce industry I have no idea about the purchase of a business, trading names and continuing the employment of current staff.

Below is an outline of how I am currently looking to achieve the transfer and am hoping I can get some direction and or confirmation if I'm completely going about it the wrong way or what I'm thinking is OK to pursue further.

I have yet to negotiate a price; this will be done early next week. The offer will be to pay for the equipment and to simply take over the commercial lease. I know this business is not making Money and the owner is keen to get out of it. He currently employs 2 staff in which I would like to initially retain.

I do not want to take on the old trading name but simply trade under my own name with an ABN that I currently hold. Can I use my own business name without having to register it?

Having changed the name and simply making a contract with the current owner to purchase his cool rooms, fridges, tills, etc., does this exclude me for any current liabilities that he may have? i..e being sued, bad debts etc.?

The commercial lease he would just transfer to me after the agreement from the centre management.

So basically I'm not buying his goodwill or business, just the stock and equipment (this is all unencumbered)

With the current staff I would like to approach this in terms of saying I won't be keeping you on as an employee but you may apply for your job and you will most likely get it, have them sign a new employment contract and new terms of employment.

Is there anything else I should consider?

Am I acting legally under Commercial Law in the manner I want to go about it?