QLD Challenge Internship Employment Reference?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

James B

2 September 2014
I have recently completed practical experience and an internship at a Queensland State School. (I am a student
teacher). At the end of this experience I received feedback and reports I feel are unfair and inaccurate and will make finding employment very difficult. Are there any options for having this looked at under the law? The school, Qld Ed, the Qld College of Teachers aren't interested. Neither are Fair Work Australia - the Fair Work Commission.

Thank you for any help.

S

Sophea

I am not aware of any legal rights per se that would entitle you to "challenge" or seek a "review" of such reports/comments James.

The whole point of feedback and third party reports is to provide information to prospective employers. Whilst you may not feel certain feedback is warranted, I'm sure you can imagine what would happen if everyone was able to challenge every bit of negative workplace or educational feedback they received.

Perhaps you could conduct an honest effort to have the school clarify matters to enable you to improve on those aspects of your training and then provide evidence of your efforts to improve to prospective employers.

James B

2 September 2014
Thanks Sophea. I understand what you are saying.

My perspective is however, these references must be used in an application to DETE.

If the reference is unrepresentative of the teachers abilities, it makes it virtually impossible to gain employment. I can understand that it probably sounds like sour grapes, but I can assure you, in this case it isn't.