WA What's 'Reasonable' Unpaid Overtime - Employer Breaking Employment Law?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

linelevel

29 September 2015
Hello

I work for an engineering/mining firm in Western Australia. I have a TAFE Diploma level qualification and am a fulltime employee working 40 hours per week minimum, paid monthly. According to the fair work australia ombudsman I fall under the "Manufacturing and Associated Industries and Occupations Award 2010"

I have been working for my current employer for approximately 3 years. From the beginning it was explained to me that my employer "does not pay overtime", yet "reasonable overtime" (unpaid overtime) may be expected from time to time. Until now I have been ok with this as the amount of extra hours required during the week has mostly been acceptable, ie 3-5 hours maximum once every few weeks. The policy states that a 38 hour week the minimum but I have always been expected to do a 40 hour week. The company also has a policy of offering time off in lieu for any work completed on the weekend or a public holiday but doesn't offer TOIL for extra hours during the week. Invariably the extra hours required are mid week and so end up as unpaid overtime.

Over the last 2 months I have worked a few 50+ hour weeks and several weeks between 45-50 hours, all of it being work during the week - unpaid. Most recently I was required to have a project completed by COB Thursday and as a result did my regular 40 hours from Monday to Thursday to meet the goal imposed by my manager. With the permission of my supervisor I took the Friday off, however the following week I was informed by my manager that the 8 hours I didn't work Friday would come out of my TOIL balance as I hadn't worked at least 6 hours that day, as is stated in the company policy. This is despite having done my regular 40 hours already for that week.