NSW What is the Likely Outcome of Our Divorce?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

xavvier

26 February 2018
Hi,

I would like to know what to expect during a divorce.

We are couple for almost 7 years, married for 5 years and we have a kid of 3 years old. She found a new man, so she wants a divorce now.

I lived with her in her country for 4 years and I didn’t get a job, just some cash on hand job. She was working full time and make good money so I relied on her. We got married in her country. My kid was born and I took care of her until now. She speaks my language.

We arrived in Australia 2 years ago. For the first year, she did some studies and we applied for a Permanent Residency. I didn’t work - I just took care of my daughter. After our student visa, so she got a casual job and I studied English and took care of my kid.

We got our Permanent Residency finally. I got a job for 2 month as a kitchen hand. I lost the job and we bought a shop for selling food in the market and it didn’t work. We kept it for 3 months and sold it.

She found a full time job, so we moved to NSW, in the countryside and there aren't many jobs in the winter. She found another better full time job and she kept her old job as a casual job.

She has 2 job and I take care of our kid.

Finally, I followed a short course for getting a job. During all the time I am with my kid, I care for her and study 2 days a week.

We have a new car from the shop and we have an off plan apartment coming. The rent money is a very big investment, we need to buy this apartment or we lose money.

We love our kid.

She doesn’t want to share all our money because she worked for it she wants more than 50% and share our kid at 50% of the time. At the moment, I have an injury, so I cannot work. She gave me time to get better and paid all the bills and rent.