QLD Inheritance for Interstate Beneficiaries - Who Pays for Postage?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

robkei

7 July 2017
If I have a will made in Qld but one or more beneficiaries live in NSW, who pays freight or postage for a specific gift (inheritance other than money) to go to the NSW beneficiaries? The estate or the beneficiaries?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Are you the executor or the beneficiary?
Is this a real life example, or what we call a "homework question"?

Tim W

Lawyer
28 April 2014
Sydney
I'm a lawyer in NSW, not Queensland, so factor that in
when deciding how much notice to take of what I say here.
  1. It is more usual for an otherwise unconditional gift to be "free and clear"
    in the hands of the beneficiary.
    Which means that it is usual for the estate to meet such costs.

2. However, you can make a gift conditional, such as
    "Bill can have my partly restored 42 foot cruising yacht
    as long as he pays for it to be removed from my yard"

This is equally applicable to any item of real property,
    such as furniture, art, a shed full of tools, a car, etc.

3. In cases such as item 2, you will also need to make
    some sort of provision for what will happen if the beneficiary
    won't/can't accept the gift subject to the condition(s). ,
    An example might be if the beneficiary simply doesn't have the money themselves
    to transport an antique item of furniture or whatever.

4. The reason for item 3 is to avoid a partial intestacy.

5. You as testator can expressly provide for delivery/ transport costs to be met from the estate.
    For avoidance of doubt, and dispute, and unnecessary pain,
    you should be express about this.
In closing, I will make my often repeated suggestion
that you have a lawyer prepare your will properly.