NSW High School teacher not playing nice

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Chaser1

28 September 2016
Hi

My 14yr old son has had continued problems with his PE teacher since January.
My son informed me today just before the last holidays he went to school without his PE clothes and this teacher told my son that he looks like a 'poofter' in what he was dressed in and then told my son he is a 'f&#cking dickead' anyway...
What's the best way to deal with that please :)

Arche

20 March 2015
Not really a legal issue at this point.
I suggest you approach the school to firstly - and no offence to your son - establish if this is what happened, and then to make a complaint. You are always better off trying to resolve a problem at the source first.

sammy01

27 September 2015
ok - so I'm a teacher. I'm appalled.

But look, stuff that happened a few weeks ago is a problem... Were there witnesses? why did you wait so long etc etc... And look I bet there are good reasons, kid was scared, didn't want to talk about it... All fair enough, but the school could get defensive and argue that the delay is for another more sinister reason...

My thoughts... Have a chat to your son. Make sure he is doing the right thing... But tell him a bit about bullying. But be really careful here PLEASE.... My thought, tell him to ignore it. Tell him to be on his best behavour... Tell him to aviod being alone with the teacher... More importantly, tell him that if such language is used again, he should politely stand up and say something like "Mr XXXX you have just said XXXX. I am now going to the prinicipal. I would like the other students to note that they witnessed you bullying me". Then he walks to the prinicipal and politey waits for the principal, or deputy to speak to him...