SA Family Court - Possible to Relocate Interstate?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Please help

1 April 2018
Hi,

I'm new to this online forum stuff so forgive me if this question has been asked before.

I have a 2-year-old that I share custody of children with. Her father works in the mines and does a 9 days on 5 days off roster. He asked if he could see her every second break, and possibly a week out of the school holidays. I've told him that he can see her as much as he can, whenever he likes.

After the separation, I was unable to afford a rental property in the small remote mining town where he was working and had to relocate 6 hours away.

Since then, I have been in a long distance relationship. He is from another state we've talked about moving in together but he can't relocate to South Australia because his job is based fly in fly out of Perth.

I have since found out that we are now exspecting! I'm torn because I would like to relocate to Perth because that would give us a more stable income and environment for both of the children. I have even offered my ex to stay with us to save him money and I would be able to afford to pay one way plane ticket.

What's the likelihood of the family court's ruling in my favour to relocate?

sammy01

27 September 2015
What is the likelihood? No idea. No one can really answer that on a site like this.

Best way to make it happen? Play by the rules. Ask dad - if he refuses, do mediation, then court, if need be. Don't just up and move.

AllForHer

23 July 2014
Since moving six hours away, what are the care arrangements? Does he see the child for five days out of every four weeks and half school holidays?

Please help

1 April 2018
Since moving six hours away, what are the care arrangements? Does he see the child for five days out of every four weeks and half school holidays?