NSW Employer Hiring a New Position - Demotion and Unfair Dismissal?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

joey.syd

17 September 2015
I am a manager in my current company reporting directly to the CEO. One day the CEO calls me into the boardroom (no notice given) and wants to have a chat about my role and how he wants to expand it. He started off by listing my duties and said I am doing three peoples jobs and now wants to hire another manager who will take part of my work from me and a director who will have myself and the new hire reporting to them. So in effect he put an extra layer between myself and him.

The job for the new director was advertised more than 24 hours before he actually took me into the boardroom. Four days after the meeting, he emails all managers in the company advising them of the new positions and that I will remain in my current role. The job posting came out and the skills and qualifications needed are exactly what I possess.

It has made me very embarrassed to be in the office, and I constantly have staff telling me he did the wrong thing and asking if I am ok. I just feel like quitting because I can't take it anymore.

My questions are:
1. Can he decide to divvy up my job, and advertise a new position that I now have to report to before speaking to me about it under Employment Law?
2. Salary has not come up, i.e. he has not stated that I will lose any part of my salary, but I feel like I have been demoted. Is there any precedent I can use here? I called up Fair Work Australia who said this could be classed as unfair dismissal, but how could that be if I am still working for him?