QLD Do Debt Collectors Need to Give Me the Debt Receipts I Requested?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
30 January 2016
I've recently been contacted by a debt collection company in regards to an outstanding Electricity and Gas bill in my name that was used and not paid by my family. Although I'm happy to pay for it and clear my name, the debt collectors aggressively demanded money or they would take me to court or take some of my assets.

I asked for a copy of the original bill, a copy of the payment plan that we agreed on, and some receipts as I had already started making payments. So far, after a month of my first initial contact, I've only just received their payment plan. Do they need to provide me with the other documents that I have requested?

I assume these are legal documents I can have and use as a paper trail and for personal filing. This is my first time in dealing with debt collectors and I just thought they would be more organised and professional. I've since then put a pause on my payments.

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Before debts go to debt collectors, the company issuing invoices would have given you ample documentation and opportunity to pay what you owe.

A debt collector would only have to provide evidence if going to court. People tend to get aggressive in response to things you do or don't do (like not pay bills despite multiple requests). Some introspection may help you see where the problem here lays.

By pausing payments, it just makes it seem to the other party that you have no intention to pay. Why expect the other party to be organised and professional when you refuse to pay debts and stop payments?