NSW Contravening Family Court Orders - Insights?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
8 September 2015
I am a novice in relation to web posts so please forgive if I have not followed the correct path...

I'm appearing in court tomorrow morning regarding my decision to contravene the Family Court Orders. I am acutely aware this can be quite the heated topic therefore I will not get into the lead up/catalyst of this.

My ex & his heavily invested solicitor have issued subpoenas in relation to me with
- Police
- Medicare
- PBS
Information sought all way back to Jan 2010.

There are domestic violence issues that have been denied by my ex - however there is categorically zero grounds for such intrusive actions & other a couple of outrageous allegations in the 385 paragraphs of the filed Affidavit there is really nothing notable that warrants such actions.

I am absolutely of the belief this is an attempt to intimidate & cause distress to me

I have eventually managed to get my solicitor to file an objection based upon relevance however I was informed by the barrister that as it's a Family matter the magistrate will grant all requests. .. is this correct?

Furthermore - how does the Family Court define/catagorise 'Minor breaches' & 'Serious breaches' other than on the grounds of lack of reasoning?

I have searched for examples of contraventions in order to determine when & how the Magistrate imposes sanctions other than vary orders - are you able to provide any insight?

Thankyo

AllForHer

23 July 2014
@Natalieinthegarden, this sounds like a more complex matter than what we are hearing about here, so any guidance we provide can only be very limited. I assume this is a parenting matter, so I've addressed it as such.