VIC Caught shoplifting at Kmart and had stuff from other store

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

User1234

19 June 2019
I truely regret with what I did last week . I went shopping with my daughter and she was in her pram . I bought a couple of things . I took 3 things from Bigw that I kept in the pram and did not pay for. Then I went to Kmart . I took 2 things from Kmart that I didn’t pay for . As I was walking out 2 people from loss prevention stopped me and took me to the back room . I was very honest but still cops were called . They gave me a caution and took my photo. I have never had any previous history of doing it and I never did it in the past . It was just one of those day when I don’t know what happened to me and what made me do that. I work in retail . They told me that this incident would not be leaked out and my employer will not be told anything about it as I work in retail itself. But they told my employer and I was fired from my job today .
I truely regret my act and I would not even think about it in future .
Can they take any further action against me ?
Can I still work in retail or would I never be able to work in retail now ?

Adam1user

5 January 2018