NSW Can I Demand Redundancy?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

pat7172

19 January 2018
Hi all,

I have a question about work probation period. I have been contracting since March 2017 with my current employer. Not long after I started I was informed that my role (even though they changed the title and job description somewhat) would be converted to a permanent role and that I would need to apply for it if I wanted to continue working for the Company.

I undertook the interview in July 2107 and was successful. I was informed verbally I had the role. In August 2017, a formal email communications took place with HR for per-employment requests for security checks, etc - to which there were no problems. Due to "slowness" I wasn't officially on boarded as a permanent staff member until Oct 23, 2017. Whilst waiting, I was still contracting.

My situation now is that due to a company restructure, it looks like I may be short between 4-8 weeks from passing my 6 month probation period and consequently will loose the opportunity of being offered a senior service redundancy package- which is significant.

My question is: as I went for the interview back in July and was successful, do I have any legal ground to "demand" the redundancy due to the tardiness to secure my permanent status? In other words if they had brought me on as a permanent around August I would not be in this predicament.

Thanks.

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
Based on your post I can't see any right to vary the start date.

Plus entitlement to redundancy is normally after a minimum period of 12 months, unless the award/EA or employment contract shortens the period.

pat7172

19 January 2018
Based on your post I can't see any right to vary the start date.