NSW Breach of Contractor Contract?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Anam

19 March 2017
Hi,

I am a IT developer contractor with a company X and providing service to company Y. Company Y has more than one service providers including the company (X) which I am a 'contractor' of.

Now company 'Y' decided to outsource all its services to company 'Z' (one of the existing service provider) and decides to not renew any contracts with company 'X' after 30th March 2017. Hence my legal contract will end on 30th March with Company X.

Being a contractor of company 'X'; I would be jobless after current month since contracts are not getting renewed. Company 'Z' approached me to continue providing services to company Y under their permanent role. If I accept company Z 's offer , can the company 'X' sue me legally if my contract letter states as below?

How am I expected to keep supporting my financial need when I need to search for new job just because of this contract terms n condition?

My contract letter with company 'X' states as below:

'By the End User or Related Body Corporate of the End User with a view to the Service Provider working for the End User at any time prior to the expiry of six months after the termination or expiration of this Agreement. The Service Provider must not and must procure that any Nominated Person does not, without company 'X' prior written consent, prior to the expiry of six months after the termination or expiration of this Agreement:

(a) enter into (or approach with a view to entering into) a similar contract of engagement or for services directly or indirectly, or employment with the End User or End User Group Company; or