VIC Threatening housemate (not on the lease)

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

andypandy

25 June 2017
Hi, I live in a house with three flatmates. One recently went to Europe with no notice and we had to get someone else to fill the room who is drunk and hostile. A girl I knew moved in as she was desperate for a place. She is not on the lease and pays less. Once moved in she started to drink and behave erratically and went against her agreement not to wake me with loud showers after 11:30 (I am a teacher and need sleep, the pipes are in the wall and they are unblockable even with ear plugs...she has been ensuring I have a minimum of four hours sleep). Moreover, you'd be aware that most apartments in Europe and uk have laws regarding vaccuming using loud appliances after hours.

it is a human right to sleep and not one to have two to three showers and make excessive noise after 11. I work full time, I am suffering from lupus and my brother is dying from cancer. I ask for very simple things

any reasonable attempt to discuss was met with hostility

Anyway, once in she reneged on this agreement and started to send me nasty texts (I blocked her and stopped engaging with her), then proceeded to repeatedly shower between 1 and 4am (drunk) making as much noise as possible and leaving all the lights on in the house and switching them back on...yeas childish stuff (this is all recorded or documented) . the other issue of course being we are in drought and the costs are out of control.

This culminated in her bursting into a room where I was trying my reports and screaming and calling me a c**t and a b***h for typing to loudly and screaming this is why I'm a loser with no friends and no one wants to date me and how dare I type in the living room when I should go to my room etc. This was totally unprovoked as I had been actively avoiding her.