VIC Sue for Ownership of a Horse?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Lena

2 May 2015
Hi, I have been working with my aunt's horse for the last four years. Although she has paid for the upkeep of the horse, I was working unofficially for her, for my room, board, access to the horse and gear and riding lessons. My relationship with her has broken down and I am wanting to keep the horse, or at least keep having access and control over what happens to him, even if I don't actually own him on paper. Do I have any legal rights in this matter?

There are many other factors involved that I feel give me a right to the horse. I can prove that in practice she gave me responsibility for him, and it is therefore up to me to decide whether I give that responsibility back to her, and the onus is on her to make a case for me to not continue having responsibility for him. She can't just take him away, and if she can, does this mean I can sue her? Her main reason for taking the horse back is because i have a mental illness, mostly related to the difficulties I have in maintaining a relationship with her, and I don't think she can provide any evidence that I can't continue being responsible for him, although she would certainly try to make a case that I am not fit to own him.

Sarah J

16 July 2014
Melbourne, Victoria
Hi Lena,