Online Law degrees/JDs - Pros & Cons

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Poidah

9 November 2017
Qld
Love to have a discussion about the pros and cons of online law degrees. There is a definite move away from online law degrees, and many universities which were offering law degrees and Juris Doctors online have now slowly ceased.
Anyone here are doing or have done law degrees online? Distance? What advice would you give to anyone considering doing it now? What are the best way to maximise the experience?

Rob Legat - SBPL

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
16 February 2017
Gold Coast, Queensland
lawtap.com
I did my law degree externally while undertaking my five year articles of clerkship (which means I'm old-ish - they don't exist anymore). This was in the pre-internet days so it was study guides and lecture cassette tapes in the mail.

Without notes and assistance from my higher up articled clerks, which was standard in those days, it would have been a massive struggle.

To get a proper understanding of the law, I think you need others around you who you can debate and consider legal concepts with.

Poidah

9 November 2017
Qld
To get a proper understanding of the law, I think you need others around you who you can debate and consider legal concepts with.

I have done some online studies too. The good courses have great discussions in their online forums, which can be more insightful and detailed than tutorial discussions depending on how well set up it is. I hope online law degrees have enough informal supports as well, like your from your articled clerks. The fact that we have forums like this Lawanswers one, makes distance law studies more feasible I would have thought.

Tim W

Lawyer
28 April 2014
Sydney
There is a definite move away from online law degrees....
Says who?