Recording the calls of minors

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Abacus

8 July 2017
hi all,
This is part of a much longer ongoing saga- but could anyone provide any information about the recording of phone contact with minors? E.g child's parent calls other parent's mobile for contact with the child.

For safety reasons, all incoming calls are recorded on this phone (due to previous abusive phone calls) and the child has just had a phone contact which left them distraught. This call was recorded (albeit inadvertently) and we are wondering if this is something we can share with child safety - who have previous involvement?
Does the child (as the party to the call) need to be aware that the call is being recorded? Any idea of the legalities around this in QLD?

Shadz

6 September 2016
Hi Abacus,

****I'm not a legal professional or anything remotely related.

I can tell you though, from personal experience/research that it is legal in QLD to record calls/conversations that you are a party of. I have a similar setup on my phone, with calls from particular numbers automatically recorded.
It's a different matter if your not in the conversation though and I know it's hard to find a distinct answer on the net for it in terms of what your asking as I faced that same situation myself.

A couple of quick questions:

You initiated the call and/or were part of the initial/end part of the conversation with the other parent before the child used the phone?
How old is the child?
does the child know/want the calls recorded (dependant on their age/ability to make that decision)?
Has the recording already been listened to and/or has the child told you what has been said to make them distraught/have that reaction?