"No confidentiality established"

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Mike Love

25 June 2014
Hi,
I'm a mortgage broker.
Last year I emailed my industry body to complain about an issue with a bank. The response I received was weak, so I worte back to him and suggested that he take real action and we boycott the banks that are participating in dodgy practises etc.
The director of the industry body didn't like my letter, and forwarded his response and my email chain to the directors of my aggregator (the company who I hold a mortgage broking licence through) and the directors then cancelled my contract with them. (They are allowed to as per our contract)

So I sent the director of my industry body a "letter of demand" to ask for lost income for the month while I changed over to a new aggregator.
I believe that he had a "breach of confidentiality" as he forwarded our email to my aggregator without permission.

So instead of giving me the $4k I asked for, he employed his lawyer to argue that there was no confidentiality established.. See letter below..

Your Complaint against the Finance Brokers Association of Australia Limited (FBAA) We act for the FBAA and have to hand your complaint dated 7 February 2022 relating to an exchange that occurred with XXXX XXXX of FBAA in April 2021.
We understand that you have engaged a legal representative. Please provide this letter to them.