QLD End of Lease - Landlord Excessively Charging for Random Things

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

procrastinasian

31 October 2014
Hi, I am a student renting off campus near Bond University. I changed units to another one in the same complex and I was recently given a bill for exiting a unit.

There were 5 of us living in the house when we all moved out (end of lease) and I am being charged the following:
$50 for a microwave replacement (I am certain that the microwave did not cost $250)

$31.25 for repairs (they did not specify what type of repairs)

$44 for dish cleaning (we ran the items through the dish washer)

$55 for extra cleaning (what does that even constitute?)

I want to enquire further on this, but before I do, is this a practice common in Queensland and is it even allowable under property law?

I heard from my colleagues that this is just how the Gold Coast operates and most of them are Canadians here only for the 2 year JD program. I am still here another 2 semesters so I am able to pursue this issue further, but I am just curious about the initial law and whether this is considered an acceptable practice in Australia.

Any insight would be great. Thanks.

S

Sophea

Hi procrastinasian,

Your rights as a tenant in QLD are governed by the Rental Tenancy Authority. They have a lot of information on their website for tenants and ending a tenancy etc.