QLD Conveyancer's misleading quote & online offer?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Hmm2000

12 July 2020
Hi everyone

Sorry. No idea which forum this fits in. I'm abit lost and not in a good headspace. Hoping to get some ideas/ guidance.

This is my first time trying to buy a home. I recently made my first ever offer on a place (it was close to a hospital - which I need as I have ongoing medical issues). I went with one conveyancer after getting a lot of quotes and things.

I would not have engaged their services had I known what I know now.

Their free quote was misleading as it did not provide a hint that there was anything other than a 'flat fee' - there were no conditions/ contingencies/ additional fees/ charges outlined for their conveyancing service in the quote. (They gave the quote in February 2020 and confirmed the amount of the flat fee in early July 2020.)

They also had a website offer that said, 'Our fixed-fees also include a life-time of free initial advice on any subsequent sale, purchase, or mortgage of property by you or your immediate family… a valuable benefit which you can use at any time.'

I was enticed by the quote and free advice offer on their website. And now I have a legal bill of $220, no house (they were going to charge me double for trying to negotiate the purchase price!) and feeling deceived because I took the information they provided at the beginning at face value.

I have no problems with legal fees. BUT they should tell prospective clients about any costs and limitations, etc, BEFORE clients come on.

I am concerned that prospective clients are not being informed of the additional charges and fees BEFORE they engage this group's conveyancing services.