VIC Trespass and photography?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

nicoloks

21 January 2021
Hi All,

I'm an amatuer Nightscape photographer, that is I go out at various times of the night to take photos of interesting landscapes and objects generally using long exposure to capture the night sky.

I am a member of multiple social groups who share our work and lately I've become a little concerned with the level of care some members are taking to not stray onto private land without express permission from the owner/occupier. I've brought this up in one group and was more or less ignored. My main concerns are these actions will bring this genre of photography into bad stead and also sour the willingness of private land holders to grant access. I suppose my question is two fold;

1. Though Vic focussed, what are the legal risks by entering property without permission? Given the circumstances my understanding is it is not criminal, though those doing it can potentially be sued by the land holder. Is this correct? Are there examples of this and the costs involved?

2. A common sort of excuse I see is "I have no idea whose property it is, I'm sure they'd be fine with it". I'm not ok with it as eventually there will be more landholders who won't be ok with it. What is the best way in Vic to establish contact with a landholder to request permission assuming there is no obvious residence

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Good of you to have a care for doing the right thing.
However, while I see your point, you are not your sibling's keeper.

Stay out of private spaces, and you'll be fine.
What others do, that's on them.

To answer your questions....

1. Offences like Enter Enclosed Lands and (criminal) Trespass are in play.
Some areas also have place-specific offences - such as railway land, and airside at airports.