VIC Employer docking Sales Commission

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
14 February 2015
I work in sales. I work in a medium to large business. My income is based on salary plus sales commission. My sales commission make up a significant amount of my income. Recently the company has added a new layer to the sales commission payment where they can dock sales commission by a minimum of 10% if your sales call review score is below 95%.

To the best of my knowledge there is nothing in my contract that states that the can be done. Does my employer have the right to do this under employment law?

Our commission has frequently changed without consultation. My employer will also will claw-back commission paid on sales that cancel within 12 months. They seem to have too many ways to take back commission and I do not know if I have the right to not allow this to happen. Any advice would be appreciated.

Paul Cott

LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
26 May 2014
Ballarat, Victoria
I work in sales. I work in a medium to large business. My income is based on salary plus sales commission. My sales commission make up a significant amount of my income. Recently the company has added a new layer to the sales commission payment where they can dock sales commission by a minimum of 10% if your sales call review score is below 95%.

To the best of my knowledge there is nothing in my contract that states that the can be done. Does my employer have the right to do this?

Our commission has frequently changed without consultation. My employer will also will claw-back commission paid on sales that cancel within 12 months. They seem to have too many ways to take back commission and I do not know if I have the right to not allow this to happen. Any advice would be appreciated.