SA Wrongfully Accused of Domestic Violence - What to Do?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

TRAINS

17 November 2017
Hello all,

It's my first time posting my issue on this blog and please bear with me as my first language is not English and I need as much information as I can from you all through this blog, as it is very important for me and I would greatly appreciate all your knowledge & support.

I have an issue and I will explain in following steps and your insight, expertise and knowledge is greatly needed & appreciated.

1) I have been falsely accused of domestic violence case from my wife and have an intervention order on me to not to see my wife & my child. I have been fighting criminal charges from domestic violence and it seems (in my opinion) my lawyers aren’t doing anything to resolve the matter for me.

Reason I say my wife has lodged a case on me in my home country (India) on similar domestic violence charges and she couldn’t prove me on those charges and courts in India has given that I wasn’t guilty of any charges that my wife accused on me. We both reconciled and got together and I went to India and bought my wife & my child with me to Australia in Dec 2016.

Just after 4 months, i.e. in April 2017, she has lodged a complaint against me on domestic violence charges stating that I was abusive, I had abusive behaviour and I threat her to kill. Which none of them are true. My wife wanted to take revenge on me reason being that she was unsuccessful in India and she knew the law here is more in favour of women and knew all the loop holes and wanted to get rid of me all together and then she can live independently with the child.