NSW Will Claim to Revoke Mother's Second Will be Successful?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

coolla1

2 September 2015
Hi all,

I had been caring for my now deceased mother for over 15 years. In that time, she had a Will done in 2001 including only 2 of her 4 children. In 2009, a new will was done including all 4 children with the suspicion they advised her as she was affected with dementia and unable to make her own decisions.

Her GP had suggested that she be tested for dementia approx 2008 but she refused so it is not confirmed. 2010 diagnosed with late stage dementia and placed in a nursing home by her son. I have lodged a claim to revoke the 2009 Will due to her incapacity and my hardship needs. The medical records have been obtained.

Question: Does this sound like a type of claim that could be successful?

The other 3 have had the claim against them, even though 1 is entitled to 50% in the 2001 Will, instead of 25% as per the 2009 Will. They have noted through their solicitor that if my claim is unsuccessful, I pay all fees for both sides from the 25% entitled to me and not from the estate. Is this correct?

Your help is appreciated

James D. Ford - Solicitor

LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
Hi Coolla1

What are the respective wealth, health, and future needs of all 4 children?

Yes, your claim, if prepared correctly, and supported by evidence (which you have indicated), could be successful.

Please understand that even if the 2009 Will is successfully declared void.. in any event, my understanding is that the other 2 children have a legal right to claim part of the estate.

The question is, if they were to apply, what % should they obtain?

Do you have a lawyer?

If not, why not?

You are in the middle of litigation in Court, and I highly recommend you urgently seek legal assistance.