QLD When Should I Engage a Barrister in Family Court?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Joe Bloggs

31 May 2016
It's been suggested that I engage a barrister as the Family Court Judge simply doesn't seem to be listening or reading the material presented to her?

It really seems that the system is about making money as opposed to listening and finding truth. Would having a Barrister be of any benefit in simply getting the information heard?

Reactions: Migz

Lennon

11 September 2014
I'm a lawyer but was self-representing for the first 6 months (well, I still am self-representing). After the first 2 directions hearings where it became extremely obvious that the judge wasn't listening to anything I said, I briefed a barrister to attend the directions hearings and the final hearing. Final hearing is next month, I'll let you know if it was worth the money after that!

Reactions: Migz and Joe Bloggs

Joe Bloggs

31 May 2016
Thank you Lennon,

It's similar to me, the Judge simply isn't listening.

From your experience is a judge more likely to listen to a barrister and act on it?

Lennon

11 September 2014
It's difficult for me to say, because I live in Perth and my hearing is in Brisbane. I appeared at the directions hearing on the telephone and the Judge behaved appallingly towards me (I'm a litigation lawyer and have appeared in court probably 200 times for work, and have never been spoken to like that). My ex had a lawyer who would appear in person and spout all kinds of rubbish (for example he told the Judge that the kids have only met my fiance once - this was ridiculously wrong, but the Judge would not even let me respond).