QLD Were My Employee Rights Violated?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Forsenlol

15 January 2017
Hey!

So I worked for a franchise owned Domino's Pizza location in QLD for 3 weeks (casual position). When I started they offered me a workers union (SDA) but I didn't sign up for it because I've been with them previously and they are kind of useless, or so I thought....

Incident #1:

Anyways, I was a delivery driver and at the end of your shift you let a manager know that you're finish and they meant to count and sign you off on your "float" (a money pouch you carry around for change). So this was during my first week (I was still a noobie), so I let the owner know who at the time was cutting pizzas and organizing orders.

So anyways, I let him know that I'm off and he tells me to go. I see that he is busy and all so I wait a couple minutes to see if he has a second to sign my float off for me. After a few minutes he yells at me "What the f*** are you still standing here like an erect dick", And I tell him that I'm just waiting for him to sign my float off.

So he goes "Just chuck your s**t on the table and f*** off".

Instead of arguing I decide to just do as he said and I put the money on the table. Then he rushes next to the table and tells me to just write my name on a piece of paper and stick on top of the float.

Incident #1.2:

This didn't happen to me personally, but on the day I got fired/quit, a young staff member starts talking to another staff member about how bad of a situation his family is in right now and how depressed she is.

The boss overhears it and tells the girl to "Shut up, and get back to work because I don't want to listen to your home problems, that not what I'm paying you for". This didn't seem right to me seeming as having a conversation while working doesn't influence your ability to do your task at the same time....