QLD Unfair Dismissal and Sketchy Business Practices

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Aslan

13 May 2021
Hi everyone, I’m fairly new to the platform.

I’ve recently been fired through a Facebook message (unprofessional, I know) and I’d like to know if I have a leg to stand on in regards to an unfair dismissal case over workplace discrimination. All in the hospitality industry.

A bit of background:

- I accepted a job listing for Full Time Management work. Worked a trial shift after attending a successful interview.

- I was currently working a part-time job in another workplace, and was asked to hand in two week’s notice by my new employer. I would take on a “casual” role in the meantime to train for the upcoming full-time work.

- It became abundantly clear that this new workplace clearly didn’t need a full-time worker, and a few days after I had finished as part-time I had a meeting in regards to switching over to my full-time contract. My new employer completely blew it off despite stating that my work performance was at peak-performance. They said I could get 14 hours a week, and I could take on other shifts in other company owned restaurants. (I raised this with fair work before I was dismissed). Was in shock and didn’t really know what to say.

- During my employment I felt that I was always treated differently than the other employees, I was the only male in a completely female run workplace. The manager was always less friendly, less willing to spend time to train me, and definitely less lenient to hear what I had to say. I was always forthcoming and respectful. I arrived early to every shift, and despite claiming I had perfect job performance I was lowered to about 8 hours a week. My manage also started to hone in on me personally and unfairly single me out when it came to work criticism, something my coworkers didn’t receive.