NSW Travel Insurance - Should I Sign the Form?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

PaulM

6 January 2017
I am a student studying long term overseas as a post doc researcher with my spouse as part of an Australian university. Before I departed, I checked in the travel insurance policy and with the university and broker and was confirmed we were both covered by the university travel policy.

As we were away for a year, there were probably 6 times we visited the same medical clinic. Each time they called ahead and verified with the insurer and confirmed we were covered. No fees were paid by either of us at any time.

However, one time my wife had a mole removed on her ankle as it had grown in size over a few months. There was a biopsy and it was OK but about 3 months later, the university sent me a bill via email that was addressed to the broker and they demanded I pay the money (it was $1200AUS) as my spouse was not covered by the policy.

I didn't pay as I was insured and told them it was a mistake and check the previous claims (one was 6 moths earlier).They completely denied that she was covered despite the policy saying that she was and also all of the other claims were not mentioned.

I rang the insurance broker and the first time before departure they confirmed she was covered but after the claim they would not comment.

We are still living overseas and I still do University fieldwork but we pay our own insurance now, the university are aware of this as I had to provide proof of insurance for my studies (that's gold isn't it). So we pay for the University responsibility.