Subcontracted employees signing agreement to not work for my client directly and vise versa

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Jacob Smith

27 November 2019
Hi,

I work in the field as a consultant and looking to bring on a couple of 'ghost' report writers to do the work, and then rebrand it as my own. They have no problem with this and is somewhat common in the industry.

However, I have concerns that the following, while unlikely, could happen;

• Either of the ghost report writers decide to work for my main client directly and cut me out

• My main client decide to cut me out and uses these ghost writers directly (this is unlikely as they will have no direct contact with my client)
I don't think this would happen in the near future, but I want to future proof my business. Nevertheless, I was writing to see if there was some sort of contract or agreement I could make each of these ghost report writers sign before they commence? This would be for them to agree to a 3, 6 or 12 month term that they are unable to do any work for any of my clients after they finalise any final reports for them.

Couple of key points;

• Both ghost writers are sub contracted and I pay them a set fee for their service

• Both myself and them work in Australia

• Work is somewhat sporadic for them - 1-2 jobs a month - yet I am expecting this to grow to 4-5/month in coming year

• I could never let my main client know about this or about the ghost writers at least for some time (a year or so)
Would I be better off just not saying anything to the ghost writers, or is there something else that I could do to prevent mutiny among the ranks (both above and below myself).

Thanks in advance.

ROOKIE

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
Well, for one thing, if they are sub-contractors,
then, absent an exclusive-provider contract, whereby