NSW Studying Law in Sydney post High School.

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Jessica19

18 April 2018
Hi,

I am currently living in Dee Why and am looking to go on to study Law in order to become a lawyer, I am in my last year and was wondering what the step-by-step process was to fully qualify? I have seen the GDLP and LPT courses and was wondering if the GDLP is the same as what you achieve after finishing University? Or is this completely different? What is the duration to become fully qualified? And where is my best option to study in Sydney and the best course to look into?

Thanks,

Jessica.

Sally-Anne Fagin

18 September 2017
I think most uni law courses offered are combined degree courses, such as say Economics/Law or Bachelor of Commerce/Bachelor of Law's.

So basically you will be studying two courses at once, and if you are not interested in the non law component of the combined degree course, then it would be a pain having to do all this extra work in a subject you have no interest in just so you can also study the law component of the combined degree.

I do remember a long time ago seeking to enrol in law at UNSW, it must of just been a law degree course, not a combined course, otherwise I wouldn't have sought to enrol in it.

I sought to enrol as a mature age student, rather than fresh from hight school.
That entailed sitting the Special Tertiary Admissions Test (STAT), of which I scored higher than 76% of people who had done the test since it's inception.

Then I had to go out to UNSW and sit the Australian Law Schools Entrance Test (ALSET), which was quite hard, and I got higher than about 51% of people who had sat the test since it's inception.

But that was not enough to get me into the course.