WA Security cam recording audio in small shop

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

roland

15 December 2016
i am a sole trader, customers come in and the little security cam records video and the conversation between me and customer. I can tell it has saved me from unscrupulous people a few times over the years.

is what i am doing illegal? especially the audio part? If it is illegal can i put a sign up on the wall to forewarn them?

roland

15 December 2016
this is a legal forum for advice, no offence can and maybe might be the difference between me going to jail or not. I was really hoping for something a tad more precise.

i'd also like to add, what is the actual problem with recording a conversation between me and a customer. Not all customers are honest and decent as i have discovered over the years. Why do all the telcos say this call WILL BE RECORDED. Like it or lump it, you will be recorded. There appears to be no choice. If i'm with bigpond and i have a technical query or problem, they will record you and there is no other way. Well, i want to know why that get away with it, it must be based in law, and if they can do i can to. That is the gist of my question. How does that act read? does it need to be interpreted? well, that's what lawyers do and i'm not one of them. It's no saying it's okay for iinet to record me but not ok for me to record them??

roland

15 December 2016
furthermore, car cams record audio, mine is good at it, it can clearly record voices outside the car. Do i go to jail and don't get to proceed?? Many or most cctv cameras record audio and operators are able to speak to people.

It's my belief a small shop owner, office etc, should have the same rights as big telcos!

Atticus

6 February 2019
I was really hoping for something a tad more precise.
I provided a link to the actual legislation.....