VIC Property settlement

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

BBBBB

6 February 2022
married 30 years, separated under one roof , family home in joint names, all other assets in his name 3 x boats, Tattoo business, jestski, Motor bikes, holiday dwelling, he's hiding and selling assets.
I have been trying to fairly negotiate for last 12mths, he has stone walled me as he controls all assets.
Although he is still paying the mortgage, while I pay all household, utilities and 100% care for our daughter whom he has completely disconnected from financially and parentally for last 8mths, I work part time as a cleaner, its hard to make ends meet.
I'm 54 , daughter 16. I have a temp FVO in place as he is verbally abusive, nothing major, just the odd pushing, shoving.
Also damaging our property,
He is in a new relationship, but is still blocking me at any attempt to move on, I really need to get my daughter out of this toxic environment.
as a last resort ive had to seek legal help.
Is this man going to take me down completely ???

tigerman2705

22 April 2021
Pushing, shoving and damaging property don’t sound like nothing major re FVIO. You know you can have full conditions on that which would get him out of the house?

And he can’t take you down completely. If you’ve been in a relationship that long you’re entitled to a fair share of the asset pool.

You need to seek legal advice to put your mind at ease.

BBBBB

6 February 2022
Thank you, I am speaking with a solicitor now, but I am dealing with a very real narcissist. I've sought legal advice as a last resort, so it's only within my tiny to nearly no budget, will that make a difference to end result

Atticus

6 February 2019