NSW Must I Sign Travel Management Plan under Employment Law?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

dan

15 March 2015
Hello everyone and thankyou in advance. I currently work in the mining industry. Recently, we have had a change in roster from 4 days on 4 days off, to 7 on and 7 off. I live 300 kilometres from the mine and during my working week I stay in a flat that I rent out of my own pocket. The mine doesn't supply any entitlements for travelling and living away from home, and I believe classifies me as a residential worker not a "drive in drive out worker".

This week I was given a "travel management plan" and was told I Have too sign it before going home, this plan has a list of "recommendations" that I have to agree I will follow, including having a minimum period of 4 hours sleep before travelling more then 100ks and not to drive if I have worked more then 14 hours. And also tick a box to say I'm compliant with the site fatigue management plan.

The fatigue management plan for our new roster is currently only in a draft state and not approved for publishing and as such I have not been able to have a copy of this but I'm supposed to be compliant with it.

I have also been told that if I don't sign it my "position with the company will be reviewed " and basically kept giving the impression if it's not signed in will be fired, do I have to agree to this document? And it's "recommendations"? Can I be dismissed for not doing so and can I have action taken against me for not signing it? Or if I was to sign it and still travel home, can they fire me or take disciplinary action under employment law?

Tim W

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
28 April 2014
Sydney
You're a miner?
Contact your union...?

dan

15 March 2015
I'm not apart of a union and the mine isn't unionised, I believe only a small amount of people are in union.

Tracy B