NSW LSL for Domestic and Other Pressing Necessity

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Elksgrove

6 May 2018
Hello

I had been working for my employer for 9 years and 3 months and recently resigned after my 12 month materinty leave was up to stay at home and look after my child full time.

I have requested that i be paid out my long service leave (pro rata) due to domestic necessity. My employer has rejected my claim. This stance was also backed up by NSW IR when i contacted them and the case manager said i couldnt meet the burden of proof required.

My question is - what do i need to show to prove that staying home to look after my child is domestic necessity? Is referring the case below enough for my claim or is there more i need to do to prove my claim?

Looking online i have found references to Donnelly v South Maitland Railways Pty Ltd 1964 (in and IR NSW PDF http://www.industrialrelations.nsw.gov.au/biz_res/oirwww/pdfs/Long_Service_Leave_2015.pdf )

It is also not financially viable for me to return to work at this stage but from what i can see this is secondary to the original reason.

thanks

Rod

Lawyer
LawConnect (LawTap) Verified
27 May 2014
www.hutchinsonlegal.com.au
and recently resigned

When giving notice did you say you were resigning due to "domestic or other pressing necessity"?

Failure to do this may be your stumbling block.

Found references to these two cases but no reported judgment so not sure how much they help:

Australian Municipal, Administrative, Clerical & Services Union v Qantas Airways Award (1996) 66 IR 70
Westbus Pty Ltd v Bartush (2000) NSWIRComm 26

The PDF you found outlines the steps you need to take.

Elksgrove

6 May 2018
Thank you for finding these cases i appreciate it