NSW Legal Recourse for Independent Contractor in a Medical Centre?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

podiatrist

2 April 2017
I am a qualified Podiatrist and entitled to use the title Doctor. I work as an independent contractor at various medical centres.

Last week, without any warning, the practice manager at one such centre, for the first time since I was employed there, called me into a staff meeting. Present was the doctor, the practice manager, two receptionists and the practice nurse. The practice manager then accused me of taking without permission patient notes.

I said that this was not true as the patient notes that I took were the patients' EPC's . An EPC is the form the doctor himself writes to give the patient access through Medicare to allied health services such as podiatry. These forms are addressed to me and form part of my professional and legal documentation. I confirmed this with Medicare subsequent to this meeting. Moreover, such forms are addressed to me and not the practice. Moreover the practice manager and the doctor should have both been aware that I did need to keep these documents because it so stated at the bottom of the very form itself.

Prior to this she also had taken to having a receptionist present any time she spoke with me, as we have had issues over non payment of money on time, and she refuses to accept my invoices. Only recently her accountant has told her to have accounts to match the allied health professional's Medicare provider number and to ensure payments from Medicare are paid into them. Numerous emails have been sent over such pay issues and the practice manager had claimed that Medicare payments came in in dribs and drabs which meant she could not pay me in line with my invoices.