WA Is it legal to use p plate with full drivers license?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Natalie

26 April 2018
hello everyone!
It it legal to use a P-plate if I have a full overseas drivers license? It is not expired and has a proper translation.
I didn’t drive for few years and would like use the p-plate to warn other drivers that I’m not very experienced.
Thanks

Clancy

6 April 2016
That is actually a good idea, but i would not do it. You have to realize that the authorities/police only care about the technical breech of the law and actual road safety is irrelevant, sadly.

Adam1user

5 January 2018
hello everyone!
It it legal to use a P-plate if I have a full overseas drivers license? It is not expired and has a proper translation.
I didn’t drive for few years and would like use the p-plate to warn other drivers that I’m not very experienced.
Thanks

You are not able to drive using the overseas licence, even when you put the P-Plate. You need to be authorised to drive in Australia by going through the Australian system, overseas licences are not authorised in Australia, there maybe a legal approval to use it for few months as this is to assist someone coming new to Australia, knowing they need time to settle, the other option to use the overseas licence is to obtain an International Licence from the issuing country of your licence and make sure that the Int. licence includes Australia.

If you drive using the overseas licence and use the P-Plate, then you are breaking several laws and you will get hefty fines. So start with your Australian licence process.

Natalie

26 April 2018