NSW Husband Cutting Off Necessities - Family Law Recourse?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

JUANITA Hile

23 September 2018
Hi,

My husband and I are separating. We still live in the same home at the moment. He has told me that he is not buying my food or necessities anymore, only for him and our daughter. He is also cutting off my connection to the Wi-Fi as punishment for me going to the gym or having coffee with my friends.

I am studying a BA and need Wi-Fi. Is he legally able to just make me fend for myself?

I stopped working as I have Multiple Sclerosis so he is the breadwinner and any money I get for family tax he takes and makes me pay rent with it.

What can I do under Family Law?

SamanthaJay

4 July 2016
Hi Juanita, can I just suggest if that is your real name you are using as a forum user name, please change it to something that is not identifiable.

Your husband may be acting in a financially abusive manner. Gym and coffee are privleges but a necessity such as food is obviously different. I would make an appointment with a women's legal service. You will get free advice and be directed to services that can help you. I would also contact Centrelink and advise them that you are separated under the same roof. You may be able to start receiving additional parenting benefits whilst still under the same roof.

JUANITA Hile

23 September 2018
Hi Juanita, can I just suggest if that is your real name you are using as a forum user name, please change it to something that is not identifiable.