QLD How to Get Car Back from Ex?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now
15 December 2019
Hi everyone, I'm new to this. I'm trying to find out what I can actually do to have my car returned from an ex who the Police put an order on me against.

I purchased a car couple years ago under car finance only in my name, but the ex's car at the time was stuffed, it was no good, so on purchasing the new car, we traded the broken one in for $3000, but ever since only I have been making the payments on the vehicle till this day.

The ex took it before I got home. She has not paid one dime on it, but we put her name on the rego that's all. All the finance is in my name and only I make the payments. Now the police obviously won't help, so I have to see a lawyer I guess, but I need to know what my chances are of getting it back.

Sorry for the long story.

GlassHalfFull

28 August 2018
Do you have children? That might determine how you proceed from here. The almost exact same thing happened to me a while ago. Because my ex took out an intervention order (VIC equivalent of your family violence order, I'm guessing) with both herself and the children named as protected persons, she took control of our house, all of our joint possessions, including the car in my name. Because she also assumed full control of the children in the process, my own lawyer told me that it would look extremely unfavourable for me to try to recover the car since she was using it to transport the children and she would be left without a car if I tried anything to take it back.