NSW How do I walk away from parenting proceedings

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Permanently Broken

3 September 2021
Hi,

This is my first time posting so I hope I’m doing it correctly.

I also apologise for the long post.

As my username states I’m a broken man, I’ve lost everything, Ive lived in a deep depression and cried daily most of the past 2 years due to the actions of my ex wife.

I’ve got two amazing kids, 8 and 13 who always loved their dad and always wanted nothing more than to spend time with him. And I absolutely feel the same way with them.

We had an amazing relationship and I cared and loved them from the minute they were born. I still do and just thinking about them hurts like hell and it’s a pain that hasn’t gone away and has only got worse with time.

My marriage started to break down over the past few years and as I could no longer handle her abusive, narcissistic, manipulative and gas lighting behaviour which was affecting my mental health and I had no option than to move out.

The first month living alone was tough as I missed my kids and our family life. They would come and visit and we’d still have fun but when it was time to go home they would break down and cry because they missed me and didn’t want to leave. There was also a sadness in their eyes that I had never seen before.

This broke my heart every time the had to leave and would keep me up all night crying and sobbing.

When it was evident I wasn’t going back to my ex, I noticed that my kids gradually stopped coming around and stopped phoning and FaceTiming me.

I still went around to visit and while I was there one day the police turned up and charged me with domestic violence. I was stunned as I was going about my day and the next thing I’m in hand cuffs in a paddy wagon and then in a cell for 6 hours and having my finger prints and a mug shot taken.