QLD Foreign Drivers Licence - Apply for Special Hardship to Drive?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Yuly

7 March 2017
Hi guys,

I just would like to know if a foreign drivers licence can apply for a special hardship to drive? Or a work authorization to drive?

I work as a courier and I need my foreign drivers licence back to provide financially to my love ones. I am in Queensland.

Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it.

I will have to present myself at court and I am really scared what's going to happen.

Arche

20 March 2015
Hi Yuly

A little more information is needed here. Have you been charged with a driving offence? Why do you have to go to Court?

Do you have a valid Queensland licence or only an overseas licence?

Jermy

30 March 2015
Hi,

As above you did not provide enough information about why you want to go to court.

As for a foreign licence, you are not able to drive although a lot of people may say otherwise. From a legal point of view, ask yourself what authority do you have to drive a vehicle in a country where you do not have a licence?

The best way is to get an international licence. Once you get the international licence, then you are authorised to drive in the foreign country.

Now assuming if you have an infringement and you don't have a valid licence, (as I explained above), I think it will not be good outcome. But the court may give you a warning or the minimum if you provide that you have hardship and never had any problem with the law (that includes good driving record in Australia).

Sorry to give this bad news, but this what I think. I am not a lawyer, this is from my observation.

Good luck.

Yuly

7 March 2017
Hi Yuly

A little more information is needed here. Have you been charged with a driving offence? Why do you have to go to Court?

Do you have a valid Queensland licence or only an overseas licence?